EIGHTEEN DAYS

Dear friends and followers, I just looked at the calendar and realised: there are, as I type this, just eighteen days (and a couple of hours) to go until 31 July, when "A Gentleman’s Murder" is officially released into the wild.

If you happen to be in Montreal for the week following, there will be a book signing and launch event at the Indigo bookstore downtown (Place Montreal Trust, 1500 McGill College Avenue) on Saturday, 04 August from 1 pm to 4 pm.

In the meantime, if you’re in the U.S., there’s a GoodReads Giveaway happening with 25 free copies of the book to be won. Check it out and tell your friends.

And speaking of GoodReads, we’ve got a few reviews there already from readers with advance copies. Reviews have so far been complimentary -- let’s hope the trend keeps up! And I hope you’ll consider adding your own when you’re done.

EIGHTEEN DAYS!

20170617 173447 %281%29 Michael Ostrowski · Author · added 5 months ago
Congrats, Christopher!!!  Love the new cover, and I am very much looking forward to reading "A Gentleman’s Murder"!  I also really enjoyed reading your interview with Jacqui, and learning about the genesis of the story and your process.    
Zack badge color 2 Z.Z. Traver · Author · added 5 months ago
The new cover looks terrific. Congrats on the early reviews. I’m really looking forward to getting my copy!

Dear friends and followers,

Things are really progressing! We have:

  • Galleys! And a new cover!
  • Reviews! Blurbs!
  • Interviews! (You’ll want to check this out.)

So, first off, the galleys. LOOK! Inkshares posted this to Twitter a few days ago:

Yes, there’s a blurb there from Andy Lewis of The Hollywood Reporter. It says, "A mystery that recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction. With fresh characters and unique twists, Huang has created a whodunit with just the right mix of old and new."

If you head over to one of the online retail outlets like Amazon, you’ll see a few other blurbs too: 

  • "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang. A Gentleman’s Murder echoes the traditional mysteries in the best sense: no car chases or explosions, just great characters and a feel for time and place." - Rhys Bowen, author
  • "Settings and atmosphere captured perfectly from nearly a century ago, complex characters, and a compelling mystery―Christopher Huang’s A Gentleman’s Murder is a must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." - Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library
  • "A dazzlingly atmospheric debut that transports you to 1920s London. A Gentleman’s Murder is a meticulous mystery that will keep you guessing until the end and please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." - Sarah Nivala, Book Soup

Over on Goodreads, Advance Reader reviews are already coming in.

And interviews. Well, interview, singular ... for now. I exchanged a few friendly words with Jacqui Castle, author of The Seclusion, on her blog. Here’s the link. (While you’re at it, why not also check out The Seclusion? It’s quite the disturbing little dystopian epic.)

And we’re on track for the official publication date of 31 July 2018. TALLY HO!

Zack badge color 2 Z.Z. Traver · Author · added 6 months ago
Congrats! Well done. This is a major milestone!

Dear friends and followers,

It has been a rather intense two months. February and March were both spent going over the book with a fine-toothed comb and rewriting significant parts of it. Streamlining. After spending two months doing absolutely nothing except This Book, it feels more than a little strange to suddenly not be working on it. The pretty-much-final document was sent in to design last week, and now it’s out of my hands.

For now, Inkshares is sending it around to various people and places to get blurbs and reviews--I wouldn’t know where to begin, personally. I’ve heard that some really nice things have been said, and it’s all very exciting.

For you, though, you’re probably wondering when you’re going to finally get your hands on the finished product. Near as I can tell, we’re looking at an official publication date of 31 July 2018. Now that all the vagaries of writing and editing are over, I doubt if there’ll be anything to change the date again.

The question now is, who should I kill next?

Picture Marianne Laughlin · Reader · edited 8 months ago · 1 like
I love when I get the email from Inkshares titled, "You backed a winner!" 
Userphoto1 original WADE CLARKE · Reader · added 9 months ago
The new title is smoother to say and also seems to top-load the civility of the thing. So I like it.

Dear friends and followers,

Things continue apace, and I think we’re on track for publication before summer. It’s a lot more work than I bargained for! The big news, though, is that we’re changing the title of the book. The story will now be published as "A Gentleman’s Murder". Well, if a gentlemen’s club, then of course a gentleman’s murder, right? And one has to admit it rolls off the tongue more easily.

It does mean I’m going to need a new header for these news bulletins....

The other big news is that we’ve also got a new cover!

It’s not quite final yet, I’m told, but I gather that this is a pretty good taste of what’s in store.

And now, I had better get back to those edits. Before somebody murders me....


Dear friends and followers,

It certainly has been a while, but things are progressing. About a week ago, I submitted the third draft of the novel, incorporating several new elements hammered out through discussions with my editor and a return-to-first-principles look at the structure of the story. I believe we have an improved product here: you will be getting your money’s worth.

But you just want the book, don’t you? Well, it appears that we have a tentative publication date! According to the info sent to Ingram, the book distributor, we’re looking at the 8th of May 2018. I admit to being excited enough about just having a date that I don’t particularly care that it’s half a year away.

So! What else is going on at Inkshares? I’d like to draw your attention to this book here: "Flight of Angels", by Kate Merenda Hohl. Every hardboiled private eye has his sassy secretary, and this story puts the sassy secretary in the spotlight to solve the mystery herself. The setting is 1957 Los Angeles, and the sun-drenched flavour soaks through like tan on a swimsuit model.

In the meantime, I’m working on putting together the next Peterkin mystery, while also preparing another proposal for Choice Of Games, while also ... well, I’m keeping busy. So I’ll leave you with this photograph from a recent visit to the south of England: Chichester Cross ... and, yes, it’s in the novel. Have fun, folks! The end is in sight!

More Comments